Kenya

Age:
9 years old
Housebroken?
Yes
Training?
I'm well behaved.
Good with Children?
Yes
Good with Dogs?
Yes, but I'd be fine as an only dog too.
Good with Cats?
unknown

My Story

Well hello Everyone!!  My name is Kenya. If you’re looking for a running partner AND someone to snuggle on the sofa with, I’m your girl!! I will be ten years old on September 7 but you’d never know it by looking at me or by the way I act. My foster mom says I’m absolutely delightful!! I’m well behaved and know some commands, like sit, stay, come, shake.  I’m in my kennel during the work day. I don’t love being in my kennel, but I’ll go in. I don’t destroy anything, don’t have accidents when I’m in there and don’t howl, whine or bark.  I’m perfectly content when my family comes home from wherever they went without me.  I’m completely potty trained and have not been destructive so, at night, can choose to sleep either on my bed or on the sofa (or on the bed with my favorite human, but ssshhh….that’s a secret).  My favorite human is high school age, but I also enjoy hanging out with young children, I like to give them kisses.

My foster mom found a lump on my back which has been aspirated. The vet said she doesn’t know what it is, but is definite it’s NOT a mast cell tumor. So for now, they’re just monitoring my lump to make sure it doesn’t grow. Prior to coming into rescue I experienced occasional allergies which were easily treated with OTC allergy meds.  I haven’t had any allergy “itchies” since I’ve been here, but the itchies are likely to happen again especially with spring finally arriving.

 I don’t play with toys and am happy as an only dog.  When my Black Lab friend comes over, I do well with him so would probably do ok with a canine companion in the house. I haven’t had the chance to play with little dogs or with cats.  I like to go for walks and walk politely on a leash, but my favorite thing is running alongside a bike.  It’s hard to believe I’m almost 10 years old when you see me running when my human takes me for a bike ride!! 

My foster mom says I’m easy to have around but says it takes me awhile to settle in so please be patient with me if I come to live with you. You aren’t likely to see my beautiful Boxer wiggle butt for several months because I’ll need to figure things out before I start to come out of my shell.

Contact

If you are interested in adopting me...

  1. You must be a resident of Wisconsin (or the U.P. of Michigan). We rely on personal visits as the best opportunity for an applicant to learn about a dog. Please note that the dogs are located in foster homes throughout the state.
  2. You must have an application on file first. Please apply. Need more info about adopting first? Check out our adoption information for the whole scoop.
  3. Please use the form below to indicate your interest in me. Approved applicants and former adopters are welcome to inquire.
  4. If you need more information, it is helpful if you submit specific questions.
Please note that you must have an approved application on file prior to inquiring about a dog.

Newsletter

Sponsors

Click & shop to support us!

©2018 Green Acres Boxer Rescue of Wisconsin
all rights reserved | DATCP License 266916-DS | Website by: Leighton Interactive